Books

The Fandom Life

fandommeaning
Screenshot taken from Google define

I think the first fandom I’ve been a part of was maybe The Little Mermaid fandom. I loved the movie and watched the cartoon almost every afternoon. I also read the book which was a companion to the movie.

I remember my mother buying me this massive collection of Disney books in a thin, “golden treasure chest” box. The books were huge and each page was roughly the size of an A2 paper. It contained 101 Dalmatians, The Jungle Book, Peter Pan, Bambi, and my favourite, The Little Mermaid. It was easy to spot the book that I read the most because of the dog ears and stains!

I don’t think I remember the exact day that I became obsessed with Harry Potter. I know I was in grade 8 so I was 12/13 years old. I read the first 5 books that year but I think I became fully obsessed after Prisoner of Azkaban. I am just as big a fan as I was when I started reading the books. The story may be over (JKR keeps telling us secrets though) but I still love the books and I love participating in the fandom through the jokes and memes that still crop up every week.

fandomlife

The books will always be at the top of the pyramid but I enjoy the movies as well. I also like the companion books Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (film out 2016!!), The Tales of Beedle the Bard, and Quidditch Through The Ages, A Very Potter Musical, Potter Puppet Pals, Voldemophobia, and any kind of funny reference or meme.

Although I’ve loved reading since I started school, Harry Potter made me really love the fantasy/adventure genre. I love the escapism and the parallels to the real world. I love the colourful characters and seeing how they develop over time. I love the world that J.K. Rowling has created for us.

Lx

Daily post prompt:ย Canโ€™t Get it Out of My Head

5 thoughts on “The Fandom Life

Leave your thoughts

