Travel

Trains, Planes, and Automobiles

One of my dreams is to travel and see as much of the world as possible. As I thought about what to write for this post I went over all the times I’ve traveled and the different means of transportation that I’ve taken.

Car, Minibus, Land rover

I’ve been on several family road trips in the past. If it was in the Western Cape then we’d travel by car. When we went to the Kruger National park we went with the combi. When we went to on 4×4 trips we would go with the Land rover. The annoying thing about travelling with cars is the cramped space and close quarters. As long as we had enough breaks to stretch out our legs, I was fine.

Cruise ship

MSC Sinfonia-visore_tcm27-2991
Photo credit: http://www.msccruises.co.za/

About two years ago I traveled to Mossel Bay on the MSC Sinfonia. I was on the ship for 3 nights with my family and honestly, 3 nights on a ship is over enough! I can’t see myself being on a cruise ship for longer than that, as I was becoming claustrophobic. The amazing thing about this cruise was the food. There was an Indian restaurant on the ship which had some amazing vegetarian curries. There was also an Italian food station which would put out pizzas and pastas. Guests could walk past and fill their plates and obviously pizza is my favourite food so I went their often. For those 4 days that I spent on the ship, I don’t think I ever got the chance to feel hungry.

Train

I can’t even remember where I went to when we went on our train trip. I think I’ve been on 2 train strips before. One thing I remember about trains is that they were so noisy and it was difficult to sleep. The living quarters are small and cramped. Our destination was lovely and I remember we were on the beach. I would travel via train again if it was just a few hours but I wouldn’t want to be on it longer than a day.

Aeroplane

plane
Traveling to New Zealand

This is the most exciting way to travel in my opinion. My first flight was more than a decade ago when I was in primary school. It was a flight to Johannesburg to visit my aunty who was living there at the time. I remember we missed our flight home because we were running late. I can’t even remember how we got home. In high school I flew to Durban for a short holiday with some family members. These were all local flights and they were very short.

On Christmas Eve 2010, I flew with a bunch of family members to New Zealand. My cousin was getting married there and it was amazing. It is still be best holiday that I have ever been on and it was amazing from start to finish. We had a long layover in Singapore and this didn’t bother us at all (at least on the way to NZ it didn’t bother us but coming back was a different story) as we got to tour the city for free. We had never flown so far from home before and the flights were between 9 and 11 hours each. The in-flight entertainment from Singapore airlines was amazing and the food was great too. They looked after us very well and I would love to fly again as soon as I can. It was worth the jet lag!

Lx

Daily post prompt: Trains, Planes, and Automobiles

3 thoughts on “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles

  1. The boat trip sounds very interesting. I’ve had numerous roadtrips but we mainly traveled by car. I am hoping to get a chance to fly soon 🙂

    Like

Leave your thoughts

